You make the call

Here’s your chance to make history! Vote for who you think should’ve won the award in the years from 1977 to 2011, when no Hickok Belt was awarded. Simply select from the choices below for each year. Then check back often to see who you and other voters believe was the best of the best each year.

1979 nominees
Who will you vote for?

  • Led the Pittsburgh Steelers to Super Bowl XIV victory and won the Super Bowl MVP
  • Passed for 309 yards and 2 touchdowns in a 31-19 win over the Los Angeles Rams

  • Outstanding single season performance earned him All-Pro, Pro-Bowl, and NFL Offensive Player of the year honors
  • Led the league in rushing with 1,697 yards

  • Won five PGA tour events to earn PGA Player of the Year award
  • Claimed the Vardon Trophy for owning the lowest scoring average

  • Held a 32-0 record at the end of 1979
  • Successfully defended his title as WBC Heavyweight Champ three times