You make the call

Here’s your chance to make history! Vote for who you think should’ve won the award in the years from 1977 to 2011, when no Hickok Belt was awarded. Simply select from the choices below for each year. Then check back often to see who you and other voters believe was the best of the best each year.

1981 nominees
Who will you vote for?

  • Averaged 22.9 points, 2.6 blocked shots and 7.1 rebounds per game
  • Named NBA regular season MVP

  • Defeated Larry Bonds, Ayub Kalule and Thomas Hearns
  • His defeat of Hearns won him the Unified Welterweight Title

  • Won the US Open and Wimbledon
  • Ranked the world's No. 1 player at the end of the year

  • Passed for 3,754 yards and 29 touchdowns
  • Was selected NFL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year