You make the call

Here’s your chance to make history! Vote for who you think should’ve won the award in the years from 1977 to 2011, when no Hickok Belt was awarded. Simply select from the choices below for each year. Then check back often to see who you and other voters believe was the best of the best each year.

1989 nominees
Who will you vote for?

  • Threw for 3,521 yards with a 70.1% completion rate and 26 TDs
  • Led 49er's to Super Bowl title and was named Super Bowl MVP

  • Averaged 22.5 points, 12.8 assists and 7.9 rebounds per game
  • Led the Lakers to NBA finals and was named NBA MVP

  • Batted .291 with 125 RBI and 47 HRs
  • Won the MVP and the Silver Slugger Award

  • Scored 199 points that included 114 goals and 85 assists
  • Became the only player to score 13 shorthanded goals in a season