Corey Kluber Named Hickok Belt® Award Winner for October 2016 


ROCHESTER, NY – Cleveland Indians ace Corey Kluber has been named the Hickok Belt® Award winner for the month of October 2016. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sports Media Association (NSMA). The voters selected Kluber based on his outstanding performance during the 2016 Major League Baseball postseason which included leading the Indians to the World Series and then posting a dominating performance as the winning pitcher in both Game 1 and Game 4.

Other finalists for the month of October in order of how the NSMA voters ranked them included: Javier Baez (baseball), Matt Ryan (football), Patrick Reed (golf), Ezekiel Elliott (football), Russell Westbrook (basketball), Artem Anisimov (hockey), Jimmy Howard (hockey), Lorenzo Alexander (football) and Joey Logano (auto racing).

His selection as the Hickok Belt® Award winner for the month of October 2016 recognizes Corey Kluber as “the best of the best” in professional sports for the month and makes him the tenth candidate eligible to receive the overall Hickok Belt® Award for 2016, joining Serena Williams, LeBron James, Clayton Kershaw, Jake Arrieta, Novak Djokovic, Steph Curry, Jason Day, Michael Phelps and Rory McIlroy.

To learn more about the Hickok Belt® Award and its rich history, please visit


News Media: For more information, contact Tony Liccione at 585-964-3077 or