NSMA Selects Dustin Johnson as the Hickok Belt® Award Winner for June 2020 

Rochester, NY – The National Sports Media Association has selected Dustin Johnson as the first monthly Hickok Belt® Award winner since the COVID – 19 outbreak shut down professional sports in March 2020. Current reigning Champion of the Travelers Tournament, Dustin Johnson was the number one pro golfer in 2017 and remained on top for 64 consecutive weeks, a feat only accomplished by Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson. The NSMA selected Johnson for his winning performance in the June 27, 2020 Travelers Championship. In a tight finish, going into the final round, Johnson was victorious after a fight for the win in the last few holes. He finished with a score of 19 under par, winning by one stroke. He joins the ranks of golf legends Jack Nicklaus and Tiger Woods as the only player in Tour history to win a PGA title in each of his thirteen seasons.

Other finalists for the month of June in order of how the NSMA voters ranked them were: Kevin Harvick (auto racing), Webb Simpson (golf), Denny Hamlin (auto racing), Danny Ings (soccer) and Tiz the Law (jockey, Manuel Franco - horse racing) (tie), Ryan Blaney (auto racing), Daniel Berger (golf), Martin Truex, Jr. (auto racing) and Kevin de Bruyne (soccer).

Dustin Johnson’s selection as the Hickok Belt® Award winner for June 2020 not only recognizes him as “the best of the best” in professional sports for the month and makes him the third candidate eligible to receive the overall Hickok Belt® Award for 2020, joining Tyson Fury and Patrick Mahomes.

To learn more about the Hickok Belt® Award and its rich history, please visit www.hickokbelt.com.

News Media: For more information, contact Tony Liccione at 585-964-3077 or info@hickokbelt.com.