Meet the 32 winners of the original The Hickok Belt Award.

Past Hickok Belt™ Award winners were truly a select fraternity. It’s a list that reads like a Who’s Who of twentieth century American sports. The award celebrated the pinnacle, of the Hall of Fame careers of such icons as Muhammad Ali, Willie Mays, Sandy Koufax, Jim Brown, Mickey Mantle, Joe Namath and Arnold Palmer. An impressive list to be sure, but no more impressive than each winner’s individual stories— simply click here to learn more about each of them.

1950 Phil Rizzuto - baseball

  • Batted .324 as Yankee shortstop
  • Won American League MVP
  • Led Yankees to 4-game World Series sweep of Phillies

1951 Allie Reynolds - baseball

  • First AL pitcher to throw 2 no-hitters in single season
  • Posted a 17-8 record with 12 saves in relief
  • Helped lead Yankees to 3rd consecutive World Series win

1952 Rocky Marciano - boxing

  • 49-0 career record, including 43 knock-out victories
  • Won 5 bouts in ’52  capped by defeating Jersey Joe Wolcott for Heavyweight title
  • Retired 4 years later as only undefeated champion in history

1953 Ben Hogan - golf

  • Won The Masters, U.S. and British Opens in ‘53
  • Capped remarkable comeback from near fatal car accident
  • Winner of 68 pro tournaments over his career

1954 Willie Mays - baseball

  • Won National League MVP
  • “Say Hey Kid” led NL with .341 average
  • Hit 41 home runs, with 110 RBIs

1955 Otto Graham - football

  • Led Cleveland Browns to 3rd NFL championship
  • Led NFL in passing
  • Threw for 2 TDs, ran for 2 in championship game

1956 Mickey Mantle - baseball

  • Batted .353 with 52 home runs,130 RBIs to win Triple Crown
  • AL MVP led Yankees over Dodgers in Series
  • Amazing catch preserved Larson’s Series perfect game