Meet the Hickok Belt Award® Winners

Past Hickok Belt Award ® winners are truly a select group – a veritable who’s who of sports icons. The award has celebrated the incredible careers of leading figures throughout sports. With names like Ali, Mantle, Brown, Namath, Palmer, Phelps and James it is an impressive list to be sure. To learn more about the amazing athletes behind the award including video highlights of their accomplishments, please enjoy the listings below.

1964 Jim Brown - football

  • Rushed for 1,446 yards
  • Won 7th NFL rushing title in eight seasons
  • Led Cleveland to the NFL championship

1965 Sandy Koufax - baseball

  • Won Triple Crown with 26 wins, 2.04 ERA, 382 strikeouts
  • Set Major League strikeout record with 382
  • Shutouts in Series Games 5 & 7 over Minnesota

1966 Frank Robinson - baseball

  • Batted .316, with 49 home runs, 122 RBIs to win Triple Crown
  • Won American League MVP
  • Led Orioles to 4-game World Series sweep of Dodgers

1967 Carl Yastrzemski - baseball

  • Last to win Triple Crown
  • Batted .326, with 44 home runs, 121 RBIs
  • Carried Red Sox to first AL pennant in 21 years

1968 Joe Namath - football

  • "Broadway Joe" delivered on guarantee of victory in Super Bowl III
  • Selected Super Bowl MVP 
  • First to pass for 4,000 yards in one season ('67)

1969 Tom Seaver - baseball

  • Went 25-7 with 5 shutouts and a 2.21 ERA
  • Helped underdog Mets defeat Orioles in World Series
  • Finished career with 311 wins and 3,640 strikeouts

1970 Brooks Robinson - baseball

  • Regarded as the finest fielding third baseman in history
  • Batted .429 and was named Series MVP in Oriole’s sweep of the Reds
  • 16 consecutive Gold Gloves earned him the nickname “The Human Vacuum Cleaner”