Meet the Hickok Belt Award® Winners

Past Hickok Belt Award ® winners are truly a select group – a veritable who’s who of sports icons. The award has celebrated the incredible careers of leading figures throughout sports. With names like Ali, Mantle, Brown, Namath, Palmer, Phelps and James it is an impressive list to be sure. To learn more about the amazing athletes behind the award including video highlights of their accomplishments, please enjoy the listings below.

2013 LeBron James - basketball

  • Led Miami Heat to 2013 NBA Championship—the team's second consecutive title.
  • Voted NBA MVP and NBA Finals MVP for 2013.
  • Averaged 26.8 points / 7.3 assists / 8.0 rebounds per game.

2014 Madison Bumgarner - Baseball

  • Posted an 18-10 regular season record with a 2.98 ERA.
  • Led the San Francisco Giants to the 2014 World Series title – earning his third championship ring with the team (2010, 2012, 2014).
  • First player to record 2 wins, a shutout, and a save in a single World Series. 

2015 Steph Curry - Basketball

  • Led the Golden State Warriors to the 2014-2015 NBA Championship
  • Averaged 23.8 points, 7.7 assists, 2.04 steals and 4.3 rebounds per game
  • Set NBA record for the three-pointers in a single season (286)
  • Voted 2014-2015 NBA MVP

2016 Michael Phelps - Swimming

  • Won 5 gold medals and one silver medal at 2016 Olympic Games in Rio
  • Current career total of 28 Olympic medals including 23 gold
  • Most decorated Olympic athlete in history

2017 Jose Altuve: Houston Astros

  • Led AL in hits for fourth straight year, along with a .346 batting average, 24 home-runs and 32 stolen bases.
  • Named American League MVP
  • Led Houston Astros to first-ever World Series Championship

2020 Patrick Mahomes: Kansas City Chiefs

  • Won January 2021 Hickok Belt(R) Award
  • Led Chiefs to Superbowl LV
  • Wins Annual 2020 annual Hicok Belt(R) Award