Meet the 32 winners of the original The Hickok Belt Award.

Past Hickok Belt™ Award winners were truly a select fraternity. It’s a list that reads like a Who’s Who of twentieth century American sports. The award celebrated the pinnacle, of the Hall of Fame careers of such icons as Muhammad Ali, Willie Mays, Sandy Koufax, Jim Brown, Mickey Mantle, Joe Namath and Arnold Palmer. An impressive list to be sure, but no more impressive than each winner’s individual stories— simply click here to learn more about each of them.

1957 Carmen Basilio - boxing

  • Became a world champion in both the welterweight and middleweight divisions
  • Upset Sugar Ray Robinson in ’57 to claim World Middleweight title
  • Finished career with 56-16-7 record

1958 Bob Turley - baseball

  • Nicknamed “Bullet Bob” for his lightning quick fastball
  • Went 21-7, with 2 shutouts, to win the Cy Young
  • Led Yankees to comeback Series win over Braves

1959 Ingemar Johansson - boxing

  •  Upset heavily favored Floyd Patterson to claim heavyweight title via TKO
  • First non-American winner of Hickok Belt Award
  • Retired with 26-2 record

1960 Arnold Palmer - golf

  • Won 8 tournaments, including The Masters and U.S. Open
  • Shot 65, erasing a 7-stroke deficit to win Open
  • Birdied final 2 holes to edge Ken Venturi to win Masters

1961 Roger Maris - baseball

  • Hit 61 home runs to beat Babe Ruth’s single season record
  • Hit 100 home runs in his first two Yankee seasons
  • Turned down a football scholarship to play for Yankees

1962 Maury Wills - baseball

  • Stole 104 bases to break Ty Cobb’s record
  • NL MVP batted .299, with 208 hits, 130 runs scored
  • His base-stealing revolutionized baseball

1963 Sandy Koufax - baseball

  • Led majors with a 1.88 ERA, 11 shutouts and 306 strikeouts in ‘63
  • Beat Yankees twice in Dodgers’ Series sweep
  • Tossed 4 no-hitters and won 3 Cy Young awards in abbreviated major league career