Meet the 32 winners of the original The Hickok Belt Award.

Past Hickok Belt™ Award winners were truly a select fraternity. It’s a list that reads like a Who’s Who of twentieth century American sports. The award celebrated the pinnacle, of the Hall of Fame careers of such icons as Muhammad Ali, Willie Mays, Sandy Koufax, Jim Brown, Mickey Mantle, Joe Namath and Arnold Palmer. An impressive list to be sure, but no more impressive than each winner’s individual stories— simply click here to learn more about each of them.


Phil Rizzuto (1950)

Nicknamed “Scooter” because of his speed and diminutive stature, Rizzuto was the short-stop on seven of the New York Yankees World Series championship teams. He was named an American League All-Star five times and won the MVP award in 1950 after batting .324 while leading the Yanks to a four-game Series sweep of the Philadelphia Phillies. That season, which also earned him the first Hickok Belt Award, would be the highlight of a thirteen-season career that would see him bat .273 and be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1995. The popular Rizzuto would achieve even greater fame during his forty-year career as a Yankees broadcaster. Fans loved his unpredictable digressions and his signature “Holy Cow!" call. The Brooklyn native died in 2007 at age eighty-nine. Rizzuto’s Hickok Belt Award is on display at the Baseball Hall of Fame & Museum in Cooperstown.

Video >>

Pitoniak, Scott, Jewel of the Sports World: The Story of the Hickok Belt Award, Rochester New York: RIT Press, Copyright © 2010